Site logo

7 Nigerian States Have Imposed Curfews

Seven states on Tuesday imposed a curfew to arrest escalating violence and killings as hoodlums hijacked the #EndSARS protests.

Lagos, Ondo, Ekiti, Abia, Plateau, Osun and Imo states announced curfews; others set up probe panels as directed by the National Economic Council (NEC).

Lagos Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu imposed a 24-hour curfew, with effect from 4 pm. This was later adjusted to 9pm

He said: “I have watched with shock how what began as a peaceful #EndSARS protest has degenerated into a monster that is threatening the well-being of our society.

“Lives and limbs have been lost as criminals and miscreants are now hiding under the umbrella of these protests to unleash mayhem on our State.

“As a government that is alive to its responsibility and has shown a commitment to the movement #ENDSARS, we will not watch and allow anarchy in our dear state.”

Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi imposed a 24-hour curfew, with effect from 10 pm last night.